favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$633 / 1br - 1900ft2 - Shared Home - 1 room available (Vancouver)

Shared Home - 1 room available 1 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 2 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 3 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 4 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 5 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 6 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 7 thumbnailShared Home - 1 room available 8 thumbnail
One room available in a shared 3-bedroom rental home with two other mature housemates. We are looking for a third person compatible with us.

Our home is spacious, bright, clean, respectful, responsible, and friendly. Located in Vancouver’s peaceful Northwest neighborhood this is a home for working adults. Per the property manager, it’s a non-smoking, no recreational drugs, no heavy drinking home.

What’s for rent:
Open room is one of three unfurnished bedrooms on the second floor. None of the rooms share walls, which is nice. It is an east-facing view (stays cooler in summer). See pic. Dimensions: approximately 10'x11'. The room has a small closet. There are two additional closets downstairs for shared use and a garage to share if you need storage space. Room is not furnished. A full bathroom is located just outside the room and is shared between you and one other female housemate exclusively. Another restroom (half-bathroom) is at the bottom of the stairs for use by all three housemates and any guests.

Rent includes use of two living rooms and a dining room downstairs, all of which are furnished by one housemate. Any furniture or decor you want to integrate is welcome and encouraged. What is shared in kitchen: silverware, microwave, fridges (2), washer and dryer in pantry — all of which are shared by one housemate (not the owner) so we are looking to possibly start an appliance fund for shared repairs and upkeep (maybe $5/month). You should have all your own bakeware, cookware, and dishes.

There is a very large backyard with a patio. If you have potted plants there is plenty of room. It's a great space to relax, read.

About the location:
Neighborhood consists of mostly families and retirees. It is bike and pedestrian-friendly. Best if you have a car or bike for commuting. It’s 5-min drive through a residential area to I-5. There are several parks nearby and a gorgeous forested, paved walking path less than a mile away (Burnt Bridge Creek Trailhead at Bernie Drive).

How the Rent Works:
One housemate is the original lease-holder, and paid the original deposit. Other two housemates (including you) must be added to the lease as required by the property management company, and are bound by the lease as a co-lease holder. You are responsible for 1/3 of all monthly bills (water, electric, gas, garbage, fiber optic internet) and less frequent house upkeep related supplies ( shared expenses in common areas such as light bulbs, smoke alarm batteries, furnace filter). Everyone must share equally in indoor chores.
Start by replying to the questions at the bottom of the ad. We’ll talk. And if it’s a good fit I’ll put you in touch with the property manager so you can apply. The property managment company must approve your application and will conduct a standard background and reference check. See below for details on fees, rent, bills.

About You:
The compatible housemate is professionally employed, mature, keeps sleep/work hours that are reasonably compatible with other housemates. You would (ideally) have prior housemate experience, be clean/tidy and prioritize getting along with housemates (which includes having sometimes uncomfortable — but respectful — conversations to address worthy issues). We want you to be comfortable initiating dialog and listening when course correction needs arise for everyone’s safety and comfort.

Come and go as you please, take care of the house and shared furniture/appliances, be a responsible renter. Keep noise levels respectful, especially outside of your bedroom. This isn't a "party" house, but friends and family gatherings are welcome. Overnight guests are not welcome (sorry, but it’s for everyone’s safety and comfort).

PETS: Ollie is a 17 yr old male cat. The carpets are light grey/almost white so dogs just do not work here. Ollie does not get along with other cats. But if you have a pet that is not a dog or cat, it could work.

MONTHLY COSTS:
-- $633/mo base rent + 1/3 of the bills = approximately $750/mo in the summer (when utilities are less) to $780/mo in the winter. These are approximations; actual amounts will vary based on monthly gas, water, and electricity use.

TO MOVE IN:
1) Non-refundable application and background check required by property manager ($195 paid to them. Bummer, but it’s their fee, not ours). Property manager also charges a $300 move-out fee which must be paid up front. I will cover this in full if you rent here for at least 12 months.

2) Fully refundable deposit ($300 to me) for any damages, lost keys, and outstanding monthly house bills upon move out. Sadly, even “good” housemates have stiffed us. We have to charge this now.

3) so as long as you steam clean your bedroom carpet with a housemate’s carpet cleaner before you complete your move-out, you won’t have to pay for a professional cleaning service. This is required by the property manager.

If interested, please reply to this ad with some information about yourself:
1. What do you do for work?
2. Why are you moving?
3. What are your pet peeves with housemates? What are some things you enjoy about shared living?
4. Have you had (non-family) housemates in the past?

post id: 7752937772

posted:

updated:

best of [?]

loading
reading
writing
saving
searching