Posted

print

favorite this post Care-giving/Home care short shifts (Downtown Portland) hide this posting unhide

compensation: $14-16 an hour

If you are looking for a very part-time job but have limited hours in your schedule this could be a perfect fit for you. I am a 40 something professional with a disability who has short shift care needs. I am very independent once I am in my wheelchair but need help with all the stuff in the morning and night to get there. It's everything you do for yourself...get out of bed, shower, go to the bathroom, get dressed...but I can't do any of it without help from another.

You don't need experience but if you have ever cared for a toddler or elder family member you are already halfway there. Me and my current staff will train you the rest of the way.

The hours are Sat and Sun Evenings times varies but generally starting between 9:45-10:30pm and ending around 11:30- 11:45pm (an 1.5 hour shift)

I also have Saturday Morning 7:30-9:30am

(All hours are flexible with in a half hour and extra time is available for things like cleaning and meal prep depending on people's skills and interest.)

It is not a lot of hours but I know some other people in my building and in the general area of the Pearl who are also looking...I need a lot of hands on physical care but others hours and needs vary,

The job starts at $14 hr and can go up to $16 based on experience and how many years you stay with it. I am also willing to pay time and a half for Sat night because it is a hard shift to cover. The pay is through a State program and you must be okay with a paycheck once a month.

I am looking to get people start training ASAP.

You are a good fit if:

You like being a helper
Have a good sense of humor about life's ups and downs
Have reliable transportation
Live or work no more then 15 min form downtown PDX
Have a SS# and can pass a background check
Are in good physical shape (no lifting but rolling and positioning needs some muscle)
Preference for female as it is personal hygiene care for another female

To be clear this is personal care so bathing, dressing, showering...everything you do in the am and pm but i need help. People who have found this job a great fit in the past include: Stay at home moms, Barista, artists, massage therapist, students going into medicine or healing arts and people who work from home but want to connect with another adult human now and again.

If you think you are interested and want to know more send me an email about you, what shifts your interested in and a good way to contact you via email or text. Serious inquiries only and please state why you are interested and think the job fits your needs.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6849395181

posted:

updated:

best of [?]